The Story of the Butterfly Children - 2nd Edition by Sibylle Von Olfers (Hardcover)
$14.49
Shop on Target

Description

About the Book Classic nature tale in art nouveau style. Perfect for fans of Cicely Mary Barker�s Flower Fairies and Elsa Beskow. Book Synopsis Far far away, the butterfly folk live in a kingdom of beautiful gardens. The butterfly children play, dance and sing all day long with their little brothers and sisters, the caterpillars. The children can't wait until the first day of spring, when they will finally get their wings. But first, they must learn about the many brightly colored flowers in the kingdom, so they can take part in the flying procession of peacock, swallowtail, red admiral and many other butterflies. Beautifully illustrated in the art nouveau style, this is another classic children's story from the author of The Story of the Root Children and The Story of the Wind Children. When the hunter's children fall out of their cradle in the woods, a kind mother rabbit takes them home and cares for them. She makes them rabbit suits to keep them warm and they play happily with her rabbit children. Review Quotes 'This beautifully illustrated book is another classic children's story from the author.' - Kindling Magazine 'Floris Books offers an amazing array of enchanting story books including The Story of the Butterfly Children. Beautifully illustrated in the art nouveau style, this book really captured the imaginations of our young readers... Perfect for sharing, this is a beautiful book that also teaches children about the life-cycle of a butterfly.' - Creative Steps Magazine About the Author Sibylle von Olfers (1881�1916) was a German children's author and illustrator. Well-known for her blend of natural observation and simple design in the art nouveau style, her work has been likened to Kate Greenaway and Elsa Beskow. Encouraged by her aunt, writer and painter Marie von Olfers, Sibylle studied at art college in Berlin. At aged 25 she took the name Sister Maria Aloysia and published her first picture book, The Story of the Root Children. She created six more picture books in the following decade before her untimely death. Her legacy is a collection of beloved children�s books including The Story of the Snow Children and The Story of the Wind Children.

logo

Target

You may also like