The shadow of the North: a story of old New York and a lost campaign (1917) Joseph Alexander Altsheler Author
Shop on Barnes & Noble


Joseph Alexander Altsheler (April 29, 1862 - June 5, 1919) was an American newspaper reporter, editor and author of popular juvenile historical fiction. He was a prolific writer, and produced fifty-one novels and (at least) fifty-one short stories. Thirty-two of his novels were part of his seven series: The Civil War Series (8 volumes) The French and Indian War Series (6 volumes) The Gold Series (2 volumes) The Great West Series (2 volumes) The Texan Series (3 volumes) The World War Series (3 volumes) The Young Trailers Series (8 volumes) Although each of the thirty-two novels constitutes an independent story, Altsheler suggested a reading order for each series (i.e., he numbered the volumes). The remaining nineteen novels can be read in any order. [Note, however, that A Knight of Philadelphia was later expanded through the addition of nineteen chapters and some minor tweaks to become Mr. Altsheler's novel In Hostile Red.


Barnes & Noble

Cash back powered by Rakuten


You may also like