Watching You by Lisa Jewell (Hardcover)
$13.14
Shop on Target

Price Comparison

Description

"About the Book ""Melville Heights is one of the nicest neighborhoods in Bristol, England. It's the sort of place where doctors and lawyers and old-money academics live. It's not the sort of place where people get stabbed in the back thirty times with a kitchen knife in their own homes. Someone must have seen something""-- Book Synopsis ""Quickly and assuredly, Jewell builds an ecosystem of countervailing suspicions...Tricky, clever, unexpected."" --New York Times Book Review ""Brace yourself as Jewell stacks up the secrets, then lights a long, slow fuse."" --People ""A seize-you-by-the-throat thriller and a genuinely moving family drama."" --A.J. Finn, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Woman in the Window The instant New York Times and #1 Sunday Times bestselling author of the Then She Was Gone delivers another suspenseful page-turner about a shocking murder in a picturesque and well-to-do English town, perfect ""for fans of Gone Girl, The Girl on the Train, and Luckiest Girl Alive"" (Library Journal). Melville Heights is one of the nicest neighborhoods in Bristol, England; home to doctors and lawyers and old-money academics. It's not the sort of place where people are brutally murdered in their own kitchens. But it is the sort of place where everyone has a secret. And everyone is watching you. As the headmaster credited with turning around the local school, Tom Fitzwilliam is beloved by one and all--including Joey Mullen, his new neighbor, who quickly develops an intense infatuation with this thoroughly charming yet unavailable man. Joey thinks her crush is a secret, but Tom's teenaged son Freddie--a prodigy with aspirations of bing a spy for MI5--excels in observing people and has witnessed Joey behaving strangely around his father. One of Tom's students, Jenna Tripp, also lives on the same street, and she's not convinced her teacher is as squeaky clean as he seems. For one thing, he has taken a particular liking to her best friend and fellow classmate, and Jenna's mother--whose mental health has admittedly been deteriorating in recent years--is convinced that Mr. Fitzwilliam is stalking her. Meanwhile, twenty years earlier, a schoolgirl writes in her diary, charting her doomed obsession with a handsome young English teacher named Mr. Fitzwilliam... In Lisa Jewell's latest brilliant ""bone-chilling suspense"" (People) no one is who they seem--and everyone is hiding something. Who has been murdered--and who would have wanted one of their neighbors dead? As ""Jewell teases out her twisty plot at just the right pace"" (Booklist, starred review), you will be kept guessing until the startling revelation on the very last page. Review Quotes ""Big Little Lies-esque small town drama with stakes as high as Amy from Gone Girl's IQ, Lisa Jewell's latest thriller is not to be missed.""-- ""InStyle"" ""A juicy new page-turner.""-- ""Brit+Co"" ""A master at unspooling tightly told tales, Jewell specializes in perfectly-pitched thrillers without sacrificing a drop of her characters' complexities, secrets, and desires, and this latest one is no exception.""-- ""The Seattle Review of Books"" ""A twisty whodunit.""-- ""Cosmopolitan"" ""Jewell excels in creating complex characters, building tension and keeping readers in the dark yet riveted until the ""Aha!"" moments...this thriller unfolds and concludes in a very satisfying way.""-- ""Shelf Awareness"" ""This suspense is going to have you turning the pages all night long.""-- ""Bustle"" ""Watching You takes the idea of obsession to chilling heights.""-- ""PopSugar"" ""[A] spine-tingling thriller...Lisa Jewell's gripping novel Watching You unravels a tangled web of rumors--and a shocking twist.""-- ""Real Simple"" ""[A] crafty conundrum...the author smoothly juggles multiple story lines...prepare to be blindsided by the murder victim's identity, not revealed until late in the game--and an even more stunning final surprise. Jewell does a masterly job of maintaining suspense.""-- ""Publishers Weekly"" ""Eerie and bone-chilling...this page turner surprises and stuns."" -- ""Woman's World Magazine"" ""In her latest mystery, bestselling author Lisa Jewell combines the cloistered charm of a small English village with the curiosity, paranoia and nosy fatalism of Rear Window. Then comes a dose of lust and lies and the sinister pursuit of Fatal Attraction. It's a thrilling trifecta...With 16 novels to her credit and more twists up her sleeve than a master magician, Jewell is sure to keep you up at night.""-- ""Minneapolis Star Tribune"" ""Jewell adeptly weaves together a complex array of characters in her latest thriller. The novel opens with the murder investigation and deftly maintains its intensity and brisk pace...Jewell's use of third-person narration allows her to explore each family's anxieties and sorrows, which ultimately makes this novel's ending all the more unsettling. An engrossing and haunting psychological thriller.""-- ""Kirkus Reviews"" ""Jewell weaves a taut multiperspective, domestic/community suspense story that is "

logo

Target

You may also like