NETGEAR WGR614 Wireless-G Router
  • NETGEAR WGR614 Wireless-G Router
  • NETGEAR WGR614 Wireless-G Router
  • NETGEAR WGR614 Wireless-G Router
  • NETGEAR WGR614 Wireless-G Router
  • NETGEAR WGR614 Wireless-G Router

NETGEAR WGR614 Wireless-G Router

68 Ratings | 22 Reviews
$138.64

Description

NETGEAR's Cable/DSL 54 Mbps Wireless Router lets you experience the blazing-fast network wireless speeds of 54 Mbps ­ up to five times faster than the popular 802.11b wireless network. These higher...More

NETGEAR WGR614 Wireless-G RouterCompare Prices

Memory4Less.com

(6)

$138.64

Unknown Tax

Shipping N/A

New Item

Description

NETGEAR's Cable/DSL 54 Mbps Wireless Router lets you experience the blazing-fast network wireless speeds of 54 Mbps ­ up to five times faster than the popular 802.11b wireless network. These higher speeds make it a snap to web surf, download large files, videoconference, stream high-quality digital movies, MP3 music and photos and play online games. This wireless router also works with 802.11b wireless products so you can use it with your existing 802.11b devices and your new 54 Mbps (802.11g) devices. Auto-sensing chooses the fastest connections possible on your 10/100 Mbps wide area network and four local area network ports. True Firewall (SPI) advanced security provides maximum protection from professional hackers. URL blocking and e-mail alerts provide parents with controls to limit access to inappropriate web sites and monitor children's access. Simple to install, you just follow the cues shown on your PC screen and your router will be up and running in no time. Smart Wizard auto-detects and configures for the best ISP connection, while UPnP (Universal Plug and Play) makes it easy to use your computers, gaming consoles and other client devices - wireless and Ethernet - for gaming, instant messaging, and other applications.

Specifications

Quick Glance
Device TypeWireless Broadband Router
Network Architecture SupportedIEEE 802.11b/g
Frequency Band2.40 GHz
Networking Standards
Wireless Transmission Speed54 Mbps
Wireless Security Features64/128-bit WEP WPA WPA2
Ports
Number of Network Ports4
General
CategoryWireless
FeaturesTCP/IP, IPSec, L2TP, NAT, PPTP, PPPoE, DHCP, Ethernet, Fast Ethernet
ClassNetwork Hardware
Dimensions
Height1.10 in
Weight9.12 oz
Width6.90 in
Depth4.70 in
Warranty
Warranty Information1 Year Limited
More Info
URLhttp://www.netgear.com
Additional Specifications
ModulationOFDM with BPSK, QPSK, 16QAM, 64QAM, DBPSK, DQPSK, CCK
Number of External Antennas1
ISM BandYes
Interfaces1 x RJ-45 Auto-sensing WAN, 4 x RJ-45 Auto-sensing LAN
Number of Broadband (RJ-45) Ports1
Dimensions1.10" Height x 6.90" Width x 4.70" Depth
Network OS SupportLinux, Mac OS, Microsoft Windows 2000, Microsoft Windows 95, Microsoft Windows 98, Microsoft Windows 98 SE, Microsoft Windows ME, Microsoft Windows NT 4.0, Microsoft Windows XP, Novell Netware (Unspecified Version), UNIX
Number of Network (RJ-45) Ports4
Product ModelWGR614
Brand NameNetgear
Humidity10% to 90% Operating
Temperature32F (0C) to 131F (55C) Operating
Normalized-Height27.94
Shipping Weight2.79 lb
Speeds Supported54 Mbps
Normalized-Weight10.58
Transmission Speed Details128 KBps to 54 Mbps Auto-fallback @
Number of Network (RJ-11) Ports5
Base Warranty3 year(s)
Connectivity Media10/100Base-TX Twisted Pair
Management PortYes
See more specifications (6)See less specifications (6)

User Reviews

68 Ratings | 22 Reviews

2.63 out of 5 stars

  • Newest
  • Oldest
  • Highest Ratings
  • Lowest Ratings
  • Most Helpful
  • Least Helpful
  • Simple to use

    By Jeffrey S  May 15, 2003

    ### Just got my new wireless router along with a Netgear WG511 laptop card and I had them up and running in about 15 minutes. My DSL connection uses pppoe that requires a login using software called Enternet. I was skeptical about how easily the wireless...router would connect over such a system since it isnt simply an always on ethernet connection coming out of the back of the modem. But the router included an insert with a list of ISPs and a chart that showed exactly how to set your settings. I was connected on the first try and it has worked like a charm ever since. Fantastic product. I have no idea what support is like because I havent had the need to contact anyone (and dont expect to have to either.) Its great to be unleashed. Read more Less

    Was this review helpful? Yes - No|14 out of 17 found this review helpful
  • excelent

    By Peter B  Aug 3, 2004

    i bout it on sat morning had a few beers, set it up pissed, no problems.

    Was this review helpful? Yes - No|2 out of 5 found this review helpful
  • The best router for your money

    By John  Dec 26, 2003

    ### Just purchased the router today, the only problem I ran into was my laptop did not want to connect. Set up took only a few minutes. My one real complaint is the support. Even though the lady was a great help, we had a hard time communicating, it was...like talking to a wall. Which leads to my only other concern, after talking with her, in order to get my laptop to communicate I had to upgrade the firmware for the router and the update my wireless driver. Then I was able to communicate and I have not had a problem since. Overall this is the best router I had found. The security is great (except no information on WEP), range is awesome, looks great, can't say enough. I strongly recommend getting this router or another router by Netgear if possible. Read more Less

    Was this review helpful? Yes - No|1 out of 1 found this review helpful
  • Great for Mac and PC platforms

    By WilliamD  Mar 23, 2005

    ### I just bought a NetGear WGR614 wireless router and a WG111 wireless USB adaptor. I bought this to allow my wife's pc laptop access to the internet in a room which has no phone/cable jacks. I also have a Mac G4 desktop. To my surprise, I was able to...configure this router with my Mac G4, using the Safari web browser (Explorer didn't work). Setup on the pc laptop had some snags. The manufacturers website did not offer much help on my problem. After about 45 minutes, I figured it out and got the network running. The system now works great! We do not have the recommended USB 2.0 network, and are still getting great results in speed. I took the laptop all over the house, and had no problems with signal strength. I do recommend this product with the matching wireless adaptor. However, be prepared for some troubleshooting on a pc. The setup instructions sound easier than they actually are. Mac users, this is a winner! Read more Less

    Was this review helpful? Yes - No
  • WGR 614v5

    By Mike  Jan 18, 2007

    ### This was the easiest set-up on any wireless I have owned. In addition, I have had problems with the last two wireless routers going down on a daily basis. I was originally using a LinkSys and than a USRobotics and both would shut down the DSL modem d...aily. The Netgear WGR614v5 has yes to perform the same issue after being up for over 3 weeks. Great product and a deal for only $15.99 on a refurb model. Only drawback is no documentation or CD, otherwise a great product. Did not have a need for tech support so I cannot really comment and gave that a neutral rating. Read more Less

    Was this review helpful? Yes - No
  • NETGEAR WGR614 Cable/DSL 54 Mbps Wireless Router R

    By Yahoo! Shopping User  Oct 21, 2004

    I had to call Netgear tech support and was up and running in few minutes. If the instructions would indicate that the reset button must be pressed for 30 seconds the telephone call would have been unnecessary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes - No|9 out of 10 found this review helpful
  • Excellent easy-to-use router

    By RMF  Oct 4, 2003

    I am a computer technician and I recommend this router and Netgear adapters to all of my clients. They are very easy to set up and use, and problems are very rare. A+ overall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes - No|6 out of 7 found this review helpful
  • Needs Work

    By Marcus  Nov 4, 2006

    ### When You Call in for helo for setting the router up its a blur. Half Of the time you can understand the people and. The rest of the time they cant help you. But once its working its great. But sometimes minor the happen But all you have to do is rest...art all the computers that are connected to it and the problem will be fixed. Since i bought it i haven had to call tech support at all. Read more Less

    Was this review helpful? Yes - No
  • Good price and does the job

    By PDOELL  Apr 25, 2006

    ### Over all I'm very happy with my NetGear router. When I went searching for a wireless router the guys at BestBuy were trying to push one on me that cost twice as much. When I winced at the price they grudgingly sold me the NetGear router. Getting it s...et up with incription with NT took me a little work and some reading, but that was probably due to me falling behind the technology. Read more Less

    Was this review helpful? Yes - No|0 out of 1 found this review helpful
  • Fixed every problem I had

    By johnk  Aug 20, 2010

    ### This router replaced the Linksys POS model I was using. It fixed every single compatibility and connectivity problem I had - and I had a lot of them. If reviewers can't get this router to work, they are defective, not the product. Nothing could have...been easier. Read more Less

    Was this review helpful? Yes - No|2 out of 2 found this review helpful
Show More|

Pro Reviews

  • Netgear WGR614

    productwiki

    rdquo; to guide users through the installation process. While setting up the router, the software will automatically check for the latest firmware upgrades to keep the network as secure as possible. People who need to access their home network on the road will appreciate the virtual private network feature. The WGR614 can also be setup as a public hotspot for open internet sharing. Users looking for a wireless-G router with a variety of features should find the Netgear WGR614 more ... PROS: (1) setup is extremely simple, ideal for entry-level users (2) capable of a fast enough connection to stream media (3) compact footprint fits in anywhere, takes up little space (4) highly compatible with a wide range of WiFi devices (5) enough security options to ensure that nobody will steal bandwidth ... CONS: (1) range is fairly limited, need to think about where youre placing it Read more

    Editors Rating

    No rating